Carousel Slider

About the LSAT

The LSAT (Law School Admission Test) is required for admission to most law schools and is offered four times a year. The LSAT has four main sections: Logical Reasoning, Analytical Reasoning, Reading Comprehension and an unscored writing sample. The Analytical Reasoning is also known as Logic Games.

The LSAT is designed to measure skills that are considered essential for success in law school.

The LSAT is scored on a scale of 120 to 180 points. Top law schools require nearly perfect scores. The LSAT is considered the most important factor in the admission process for most law schools.

The test consists of five thirty-five minute sections including two in Logical Reasoning, one in Analytical Reasoning, one in Reading Comprehension and an unscored section (used to pre-test new items). All questions are multiple choice. The writing sample is administered at the end of the test. Copies will be sent to all law schools to which you apply.


What does the LSAT test measure?
The LSAT is designed to measure skills that are considered essential for success in law school: the reading and comprehension of complex texts with accuracy and insight; the organization and management of information and the ability to draw reasonable inferences from it; the ability to think critically; and the analysis and evaluation of the reasoning and arguments of others.

When and Where Do People Take the LSAT?
Many law schools require that the LSAT be taken by December for admission the following fall. However, taking the test earlier—in June or September/October—is often advised. There is a list of published test centers, which includes various undergraduate schools, law schools, military bases, embassies, and educational centers throughout the world. The LSAT is not administered at every test center on all testing dates, and there is limited center availability for each test administration. If you register online, you can check test center availability in real time.

What sections are on the LSAT?
There is a Reading Comprehension section, one Analytical Reasoning section, and two Logical Reasoning sections. There is also an unscored section known as the variable section, which is typically used to pretest new test questions or to preequate new test forms.

What is the timing for the sections on the LSAT?
The test consists of five 35-minute sections of multiple-choice questions. At the end of the exam, a 35-minute unscored writing sample is administered. Copies of this sample are sent to all law schools to which you apply.

How is the LSAT scored?
Your LSAT score is based on the number of questions answered correctly. There is no deduction for incorrect answers, nor are individual questions on the various test sections weighted differently. Raw scores are converted to an LSAT scale that ranges from 120 to 180, with 120 being the lowest possible score and 180 the highest possible score. This is done through a statistical procedure known as equating, a method that adjusts for minor differences in difficulty between test forms.

How do I register for the LSAT?
You may register online.

About LSAT Exam Prep

For information about LSAT Exam Prep - click here.